HIP HOP LIFESTYLE

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I gave up my car, partially as common sense but partially as a political statement

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I gave up my car, partially as common sense but partially as a political statement

Anyone else do this or thought of doing this?

I am a student, living right off of Ohio State University. My mom gave me her old car but I gave it back to her when I moved up here this summer. I've been riding my bike everywhere and honestly, I love it. Since I live in the city I really don't usually have far to go, so it works out well. I take the bus downtown to the office and the bus runs every 15-20 minutes. I recently got a new state ID and didn't get a drivers license; just the state ID. The woman at the desk looked at me like I was crazy and said "you're willing to give up your DRIVING privelages?" I said if you want to call paying: 4 dollar gas, insurance, possible car payment, license fees, meters/garages, maintenace/repairs, and for me, a high number of speeding/parking tickets each year, then yeah, I'm giving up my PRIVELAGE. Not only is giving up your car a good financial decision as a student but it's great exercise. The only real inconvenience I've encountered was grocery shopping but my friends know that if they drive me there occasionally, I'll pay them for their troubles. Hell, if you live in the city, paying for cab rides 3-4 times a week can be a hell of a lot cheaper than owning a car.

I understand some people really do need to be at a lot of places, fast, but for people like me, it works out great. Just wondering if anyone else does this.

I haven't had a car for the past three years and I love it.
    @yeldarb367

Comment

Not possible or convenient for me where I work and go to school, plus I my car. Have put a lot of hard work and time into it. Do all the maintenance myself.
      Steelers|KU Jayhawks|USC

Comment