Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oliver Stone: "Media Slanders Politically-Minded Stars"

Contact Music | April 4 2006

Movie-maker OLIVER STONE has blasted media groups who "slander" celebrities for their political comments - because intelligent stars have every right to question their leaders.

The Vietnam veteran, who is a fierce opponent of the US leadership, is appalled every time a celebrity is rudely mocked for making his or her thoughts about PRESIDENT GEORGE W BUSH and the war in Iraq public, and he urges journalists to be more supportive.

The NATURAL BORN KILLERS director says, "We're Hollywood wackos and all that stuff, left-wing... (It's) an easy and facile dismissal.

"I'm still a citizen, I've served my country as a veteran, I've had many jobs before the film business. I know something of life, having lived to this age.

"We have a right to speak and every time we speak: 'You're an actor, a showbusiness director,' we're making it up! "This is not a way of dealing with people. This is slander."

What i've always found funny is that the media immediately attacks anyone in entertainment who has a political opinion...constantly saying they don't know shit cause they're just entertainers but how fucked up is that? People are people...we all have opinions and can see shit just like the next man can.

But this is where it gets funny...the media has always done this like any entertainer should stay out of politics...because they don't know enough yet everyone forgets that Ronal Reagan was a BIIIIIIG time actor way before he became president. Also...look at how far Arnold boy has come.

People also act like nobody in hollywood had the ability to go to school and get a degree..when many have. Which actually makes some of them more qualified to argue if something is true or not more than the person in the media judging them that doesn't know shit or have a degree or training in the topic at all! lol