• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Commentary on 50 and Game Beef!!!

Low Tidings
    By Rick Murphy

I wanna bust someone from my posse.
    I wanna bust someone from my posse like 50 Cent (“Fitty”) did to The Game.
    For those of you who missed it, Fitty was on Hot 97 radio when he dissed The Game and threw him out of the G-unit, his posse. When supporters of The Game heard the announcement, they ran down to the radio station and busted some slugs before fleeing in their ghetto sled. (That means they shot guns outside the radio station, hitting and wounding one bystander.)
    The headline in the newspapers the next morning was “50 Cent Banishes The Game.” Being an editor myself, I would have gone with “Gang Shoots Bystander” but maybe that’s just me.
    Anyhow, Fitty got a tremendous amount of press, coincidentally just as his new album was coming out.
    Ever the Shaolin, I crave publicity as much as the next hip-hop artist, but I’m not about to take my eight plus one and lick off everyone who trifes me. I figured I’d try the Fitty way and try to drum up some free pub.
    First, I figured I could throw Jerry Della Femina out of my posse, but he informed me he isn’t even in my posse, mainly because I am a honkey. He said I should slow my roll, give him some props, and be thankful I wasn’t making an up north trip.
    Bob Vacca, one of our copy editors, was next up. He’s a homey, he’s whack, he’s a playa, and I’ve known him since we were kids, so naturally we’ve exchanged gunfire numerous times.
    “Yo Money, I need to chill gettin’ down with the syke so I be parlaying without you from now on.”
    Bob just looked at me, put on his low goose, and left the house.
    I realized then because I’m married (to a hoodrat with a lot of bling bling — sometimes we even hit skins) I don’t have a G-unit, so I can’t be merkin anyone.